Client loyalty.
We recognize our clients' goals and work with them to achieve those goals.


Our lawyers have extensive appellate experience in the Kansas Court of Appeals, Kansas Supreme Court and the United States Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals.  A few recent successes showcase the ability and talent of our appellate lawyers:

  • United States v. Krause, 637 F.3d 1160 (10th Cir. 2011)  Judgment in favor of bankruptcy trustee was upheld in case of debtor who titled assets in children and corporations and trusts in order to avoid tax liens.  Court affirmed trial court' decision to grant judgment as sanction for spoilation of electronic evidence.
  • Parks v. Dittmar, 618 F.3d 1199 (10th Cir. 2011) Judgment in favor of debtors was reversed in trustee's effort to add stock appreciation rights to several debtors' bankruptcy estates.
  • Westar Energy, Inc. v. Lake, 552 F.3d 1215 (10th Cir. 2010), court compelled a corporation to advance past and future legal fees incurred by corporate director for his criminal defense.
  • City of Neodesha v. BP Corporation North America, _ Kan. _, 287 P.3d 214 (2012)  Reversal of trial court's vacation of jury verdict in client's favor.  Kansas Supreme Court ordered judgment be entered in client's favor on issue appealed. 
  • Evensen v. Lilley, _Kan._, 282 P.3d 610 (2012) Client's attempted "controlled burn" in rural area caused loss of trees to adjoining property.  Kansas Supreme Court affirmed damages calculation that awarded difference in value of property before and after loss of trees rather than cost to replace trees.
  • Law v. Law Co. Bldg Assocs., 42 Kan. App. 2d 278, 210 P.3d 676 (2010) Court reversed award of summary judgment for defendants on plaintiffs claims for reformation of a contract and breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing.
  • Roles v. Boeing, 43 Kan. App. 2d 619 (2010) The Kansas Court of Appeals reversed years of Division of Workers Compensation administrative agency rulings assessing significant workers compensation medical costs against the employer and carrier, which resulted in a reimbursement award of $132,674.92 for benefits paid.
  • Walker v. Regier, 41 Kan. App.2d 352 (2009) Jury verdict in favor of physician/hospital in medical malpractice case was affirmed.
  • Rojas v. Barker, 40 Kan. App.2d 758 (2008)  Verdict in favor of physician/hospital in medical malpractice case was affirmed.  Issue was informed consent.
Super Lawyers list includes HFH attorneys
Attorneys of Hite Fanning & Honeyman have been selected for inclusion in the latest issue of Super Lawyers. Richard Hite is included in the category of general litigation, Richard Honeyman and Jim Robinson are in the business litigation category and Art Chalmers is in the defense litigation category. Linda Parks is recognized in the area of business and corporate work and Gaye Tibbets is included in the category of Employment and Labor. Additionally, Don Gribble and Randy Troutt are included in the list of attorneys defending medical malpractice cases. Finally, Scott Hill was selected to be included in the list of Rising Stars in the area of business and corporate work. Super Lawyers’ annual process for identifying attorneys include independent research and peer review. No more than 5% of the attorneys in the state can be included in the Super Lawyers listing.
HFH Attorneys Named in 2020 Best Lawyers
Eight lawyers of the Wichita law firm of Hite Fanning & Honeyman LLP are recognized in the Best Lawyers of America 2020. Additionally, Lawyer of the Year awards are presented annually to a single outstanding lawyer in each practice area and designated metropolitan area. HFH’s F. James Robinson was named the 2020 Lawyer of the Year in Wichita in Bet-the Company litigation; Jim was also recognized for commercial litigation, and banking & finance litigation. Other HFH attorneys recognized in the Best Lawyers in America 2020 edition are Don Gribble (medical malpractice-defense), Richard Hite (bet-the-company litigation, commercial litigation, mediation and personal injury litigation-defense), Richard Honeyman (personal injury litigation – defense), Jon Newman (employment law-individuals, employment law-management./insurance and workers’ compensation-employers), Linda Parks (bankruptcy creditor and debtor rights, insolvency and reorganization law and commercial litigation), Gaye Tibbets (employment law-individuals, employment law management and labor and employment litigation), and Randy Troutt has been ( medical malpractice defense litigation). , Best Lawyers is a peer review publication, seeking the consensus opinion of leading lawyers about the professional abilities of colleagues in the same practice area.
Court Rules Against Proposed Wind Farm in Northern Sumner County
On September 21, a Sumner County judge issued a ruling in a zoning appeal case that blocks the construction of a proposed wind farm in northern Sumner County.