Committed to your successes.
Our clients value our creative, pragmatic, timely and cost effective solutions.
HomeProfessionalsAttorneysRichard L. Honeyman

Richard L. "Dick" Honeyman  |  Partner

T 316-265-7741F 316-267-7803E

Dick is a founding partner in the firm of Hite, Fanning & Honeyman, L.L.P. He practices principally in the area of civil litigation. He frequently serves as an ADR mediator for cases pending in the U.S. District Court for the District of Kansas and the Eighteenth Judicial District of the State of Kansas. Dick is admitted to practice in Kansas state and federal courts, and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the 10th District.

He has been listed in Chambers U.S.A, an independent guide to leading business lawyers. He has received an AV® Peer Review Rating in the distinguished legal directory, Martindale-Hubbell®,* and has been selected for inclusion in Missouri & Kansas Super Lawyers®, 2007-2017 Editions.

Throughout his 50+ year career, Dick has represented clients in a wide range of industries in civil litigation and personal injury defense. Dick has remained active in the legal community since his admission to the bar in 1964. He has also been recognized for his many contributions to the field, being named a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers (ACTL).

He is a member of the Wichita and Kansas Bar associations, and Kansas Association of Defense Counsel (KADC), all for which he has served previously on the board of governors. Dick is also a member of the Defense Research Institute (DRI) and was selected to be the Wichita member for the Association of Defense Trial Lawyers, a role he has held since 1998. He has taken on numerous leadership roles over the years, including serving as president of the Kansas Bar Association's (KBA) Litigation Section and the Wichita Bar Association (WBA). Dick is a frequent lecturer at CLEs on litigation topics. He received his A.B. from Wichita State University and his LL.B. from Washburn University.

In the community, Dick is past chairman of the Wichita Downtown Development Corporation (WDDC), which aims to enhance the economic vitality of the downtown area. He is also past president of the Wichita Festivals, Inc. board of directors and secretary of the Starkey Foundation. A longtime supporter of the arts, Dick recently concluded a five-year term as chairman of Orpheum Performing Arts Center and is a past director for the Wichita Community Theatre and Wichita Music Theatre.

*AV® is a certification mark of Reed Elsevier Properties Inc., used in accordance with the Martindale-Hubbell certification procedures, standards and policies.  

Areas of Concentration
  • Civil Litigation
  • Business Litigation
  • Professional Liability
  • Mediation

Court Admissions

  • Kansas, 1964
  • U.S. District Court, District of Kansas, 1964
  • U.S. Court of Appeals, 10th Circuit
  • Best Lawyers in America 2014-2017, Personal Injury Litigation Law - Defense
  • Best Lawyers in America 2017, Personal Injury Litigation Law - Defense "Lawyer of the Year"
  • Kahrs Lifetime Achievement Award, Kansas Association of Defense Counsel, 2014
  • Ranked by Chambers USA 2013-present, as a leading lawyer in the practice area of General Commercial Litigation.
  • Chambers USA:  America’s Leading Lawyers for Business
  • AV® Peer Review Rating, Martindale-Hubbell®*
  • Missouri & Kansas Super Lawyers, 2007-2016 Editions
  • Fellow, Kansas Bar Foundation
  • Fellow, American College of Trial Lawyers (1995-Present)
  • President’s Award, Wichita Bar Association (1987)
  • Howard Kline Distinguished Service Award, Wichita Bar Association

Professional Memberships

  • Kansas Bar Association (KBA) (1964-Present; President, Litigation Section, 1979; Board of Governors, 1994-1998)
  • Wichita Bar Association (WBA) (President, 1989-1990; Board of Governors, 1994-1996)
  • Kansas Association of Defense Counsel (KADC) (Board of Governors, 1987-1990)
  • Defense Research Institute (DRI)
  • American College of Trial Lawyers (ACTL) (State Chair, 2000-2002)
  • Association of Defense Trial Lawyers (Wichita Representative, 1998-Present)
  • Wichita Young Lawyers Association (President, 1972)


  • Wichita State University, A.B., 1961
  • Washburn University, LL.B., 1964

Community Involvement

  • Starkey Foundation (Secretary, 2008-Present)
  • Wichita Downtown Development Corporation (WDDC) (Chairman, 2010-2011; Board of Directors, 2005-Present)
  • Wichita Festivals, Inc. (2006-2013; President, Board of Directors, 2006-2013)
  • Orpheum Performing Arts Center (Chairman, 2005-2010; Executive Board and Board of Governors, 1995-2010)
  • Wichita Bar Show (Producer, 1983-2007)
  • Wichita Music Theatre (Board of Directors, 1998-2004)
  • Washburn University School of Law (Board of Governors, 1994-2001)
  • Wichita Community Theatre (Board of Directors)

Speaking Engagements

  • “Preparing an Ephedra Case for Trial Part II:  The Defense Perspective,” Mealey’s Ephedra Litigation Conference (2003)
  • “Preparing a PPA or Ephedra Case for Trial, Causation, and How to Handle Other Contributing Factors,” Mealey’s PPA & Ephedra Litigation Conference (2002)
  • “Investigative Techniques & Preparing for Trial,” Kansas Paralegal Association (1999)
Hite, Fanning & Honeyman lawyers recognized as Best Lawyers in America
Linda Parks was named the 2018 Lawyer of the Year in the area of bankruptcy and creditor rights/insolvency and Gaye Tibbets was named the 2018 Lawyer of the Year in the area of employment and labor litigation, by Best Lawyers in America. The following lawyers from Hite, Fanning & Honeyman have also been recognized as Best Lawyers in America 2018: Other HFH attorneys are included in the Best Lawyers in America 2018 edition. The attorneys selected were Art Chalmers (insurance law), Don Gribble (medical malpractice-defense), Jim Robinson (commercial litigation, bet-the-company litigation, banking & finance litigation), Jon Newman (workers’ compensation-employers), Randy Troutt (medical malpractice-defense), Richard Honeyman (personal injury litigation – defense) and Richard Hite (bet-the-company litigation, commercial litigation, personal injury litigation-defense). Best Lawyers is a peer review publication, seeking the consensus opinion of leading lawyers about the professional abilities of colleagues in the same practice area. For more information,
The Kansas Bar Association named F. James Robinson the 2017 recipient of the Phil Lewis Medal of Distinction. He was also presented with the 2017 Kahrs Lifetime Achievement Award by the Kansas Association of Defense Counsel.
The Kansas Association of Defense Counsel presented F. James Robinson with the Kahrs Lifetime Achievement Award. This award is the KADC’s highest honor, given only to those individuals with a distinguished legal and public service career. Aside from being a highly regarded attorney, Jim serves as a leader in the educating others of the role of an independent judiciary. The award was presented during the KADC's annual conference in December 2017.
Kelly Rundell leads Wesley E. Brown American Inn of Court
Kelly Rundell has been elected president of the Wesley E. Brown Inn of Court for the 2017-2018 year. The Inn’s 100 members are selected through an application process. The membership is made up of Masters, Barristers and Associates, depending on the attorney’s experience. Kelly is a Master and has been a member of the Inn since its formation in 2008.